Skip to content

P.S. I Love You – Cecilia Ahern

January 30, 2008
tags:
I picked this book up on a recommendation from a friend. I was told it was a book that would both make you laugh and cry. That’s my kind of book.
Going in, I was a little leary of the subject matter. Holly looses her husband, Gerry, to a brain tumor at the ripe old age of 30. I got married 9 months ago, am a tad over 30, and the thought of something like this happening to me was almost more than I could wrap my brain around.

Turns out I really enjoyed this book. I loved her twist on a very basic story, with the series of monthly envelopes detailing a list to help Holly move on. The minute Holly opened the first envelope from Gerry, I lost it. This book was well written and it really tugged at my heart. It was funny and simple. A very easy read. I could really relate to Holly and I really felt what she was going through. I would definitely recommend this book.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2010 6:40 pm

    Did you see the movie? This is my one exception to the book-is-always-better-than-the movie. The movie was really good.

    • hagergirl permalink*
      March 30, 2010 2:46 am

      My husband loved the movie, and he doesn’t usually like those types of movies. I thought it was ok. I love Hillary Swank.

Leave a Reply

