Skip to content

The Road – Cormac McCarthy

March 11, 2008

This was my first McCarthy book. I did not know a whole lot about him and his work. The little I did know, did not really appeal to me. I avoided this book for a long time. But, on a whim, I finally decided to pick it up and see what all of the talk was about.
At its simplest, this is a book about the relationship between father and son. It is about survival and unconditional love and the lengths a father will go through to protect a child. The father and son live in a postapocolyptic world where we are never completely sure what happened. McCarthy lets your mind wander and form your own opinions about a lot of these details.

The bottom line was that I really did not like this book. I admire McCarthy for the creation of this book, for giving us this story. It was cutting edge, it really makes you think about so many difficult and disturbing issues and situations. But I just did not like the book. This book so deeply disturbed me that I had a difficult time sleeping the few days I was reading it. I actually ended up reading this book through very quickly just to get to the end and get it over with. I just couldn’t handle it emotionally.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

