Skip to content

Barefoot – Elin Hilderbrand

July 20, 2008
tags:

Yes, I read back to back books centering around characters living on Nantucket. It is July and I am in a summer beach book mood! I was actually very curious to read this book after reading The Beach House (see post below), as I am a huge Jane Green fan.

This book revolves around three women who pack up and head to Nantucked for the summer. Each woman is escaping her own life and hoping to deal with her problems by spending the summer at the beach. The story follows Vicki as she deals with cancer treatment, Brenda as she deals with the fallout of being fired after having an affair with one of her students, and Melanie who, after a long battle with infertility, is finally pregnant, only to find out that her husband is having an affair.

This book really kept my attention, as I read the whole book over the course of a weekend. The characters and the story were interesting and kept me wanting to read and find out what happens next. It was a light read. There is no brain surgery here. But after spending my days ad weeks at work, it’s books like this that keep me going and allow my mind to relax and get swept up and away from all of the everyday mundane details of life.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

