Skip to content

The Five Love Languages – Gary Chapman

August 20, 2008

This book has intrigued me for a while. I bought it a few months back and have been meaning to get to it. Still being somewhat of a newlywed, I figured any and all information I could learn on how to communicate better could only help me in the long run.

In this book, Gary Chapman, a Christian marriage counselor, asserts that each indivual speaks and expresses love in one of five ways: words of affirmation, quality time, gifts, acts of service, and physical touch. He says that one of the biggest problems in marriages is that often times partners speak different love languages and do not understand the language of each other, which causes conflict and misunderstanding. This book asserts that most problems in marriages can be fixed by learning your spouces love language.

This was an interesting book, but very much common sense to me. I went into marriage knowing that communication is the key. If you can’t communicate with your partner, your marriage is not going to last. Maybe I’ve been reading too many of these types of books lately. Or maybe I just waited so long in life to get married that I learned these lessons long ago. But, nevertheless, it was a simple and easy read and I could see how it could be a good starting point for learning how to better communicate with your spouse.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: