Skip to content

Such a Pretty Fat – Jen Lancaster

August 27, 2008

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again. I love Jen Lancaster. I mean I really, really, really love her. Her first two books, Bright Lights, Big Ass and Bitter is the New Black, were fantastic, laugh out loud, hilariously funny peeks into her life. Such a Pretty Fat picks up where Bitter left off, with Jen wanting to tackle the little issue she has with her weight.

Jen has no issues whatsoever with her size or her self-esteem. She carries a few, or more than a few, extra pounds around with her. She has for a long time, and yet it doesn’t bother her in the least. She is happy and confident with the person she is. What a concept! A woman being happy with who she is despite not being stick thin. Did I already say that I love Jen Lancaster?!

Well, a visit to the doctor reveals some frightening health news, and Jen decides she really should do something to be a little healthier. And, hey, why not turn the project into another best selling book?

Jen has the ability to say outloud what each and every one of us is thinking, but just never ever says outloud, with spunk and charisma. And the result is absolutely hysterical. She is brutally honest, and it is so refreshing and comforting to know that it is possible to be happy despite all of the pressure we get as women to be thinner, prettier, and, yes, even thinner.

Every woman should read this book. I laughed out loud so many times that my poor husband thought I was loosing my mind.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

