Skip to content

The Emperor’s Children – Claire Messud

September 25, 2008

I picked this book up and read the back cover, like I always do, and thought, hey, this sounds like a really great interesting book to read. Fast forward about a year when the book finally rose to the top of the To Be Read pile. I was really interested in this book. and I was especially wanting to read something a little smarter and a little less mind numbing this summer. Note to self – smarter isn’t always better.

The basic plot of this book is the intersection of the lives of three 30-somethings making it – and not making it – in New York City. The three friends are trying to find their way and find themselves until a twist is thrown into their lives that changes each of them forever.

This book got some really great literary reviews. It was a New York Times Book of the Year. However, I just didn’t like it. I found the characters dull and the story line utterly lacking. Who knows, maybe I’m not intellectual enought to really “get” the book. But I thought it was bad from beginning to end.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

