Skip to content

The Friday Night Knitting Club – Kate Jacobs

January 10, 2009
tags:

I was a little hesitant to pick up this book, as I really know nothing about knitting. Not to stereotype, but to me knitting has always seemed like something “older” women do, so I wasn’t sure I would be able to relate to any of the characters in the novel. And for me, if I can’t relate to the characters, I don’t usually end up liking the book. I was afraid I would be bored by this book.

I was very pleasantly surprised by how much I ended up liking this book. The focus of the book was really more about the relationships between the eclectic group of women than about the knitting. This story really centers around this group of women, the issues and problems in their respective lives, and how they come together once a week for a Friday Night Knitting Club at the knitting shop owned by the main character of the book, Georgia.

Kate Jacobs does a great job creating a diverse cast of characters to portray in this novel. All of the women are so very different, and yet seem to come together and support one another when they all most need it. Very well written and engaging. This book is a definite must read for those who generally like female-based, chick lit type of books.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

