Skip to content

The Wednesday Sisters – Meg Waite Clayton

February 18, 2010

Meg Clayton’s novel, The Wednesday Sisters, tells the tale of a group of women who meet in a neighborhood parn in Palo Alto, California circa 1967. The timeframe spans several decades, starting in the late 1960s. These Wednesday sisters do not have a lot in common on the outside. Each woman has her own quirks and interests, struggles, trials, and tribulations. But they come together in the spirit of sisterhood and forma real family bond together.

As the years pass, children grow, and families experience victories and hardships, the Wednesday sisters begin to form a writing group to express themselves. As each woman expresses her hopes, dreams, and fears through poems, short stroies, and novels, they experience and explore the changing world around them. They support each other, argue with each other, and utlimately, grow together. War, racism, women’s rights, space exploration, and gender roles in society are some of hte main themes the women explore throughout the book.

This was such a light, fun, and inspirational read. This novel is a true feel good read. Humorous and moving, The Wednesday Sisters is a literary feast for book lovers that earns a place among those popular works that honor the joyful, mysterious, unbreakable bonds between female friends of all generations.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: