Skip to content

Sleepwalking in Daylight – Elizabeth Flock

March 17, 2010

A few years back I real Me and Emma by Elizabeth Flock. And while it was a bit haunting, it was well written and I enjoyed the novel overall. When I came across a copy of Sleepwalking in Daylight, I thought I would give it a go.

This novel is uncomfortable to read. I felt physically uncomfortable several times while I was reading this book. I felt a bit like I was peeking in on someone’s life and seeing things that I should not have been seeing.

This novel tells the story of Samantha, a stay at home mom doing all of the “mundane” things that stay at home moms do. Shuttling kids, coordinating family schedules, cooking, cleaning, the gamut. Samantha is becoming more and more resentful with her role as she deals with a husband that is mentally absent from the family, young twin boys, and a rebellious adopted teenage daughter.

Like Me and Emma, this book’s ending will haunt you. It is not a novel for the faint of heart.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

