Skip to content

The Lost Symbol – Dan Brown

March 27, 2010

The Lost Symbol is the third installment in the Robert Langdon series by Dan Brown following Angels & Demons and The Davinci Code. This latest installment takes us to Washington D.C. where Langdon is to deliver a small package of unknown contents to Peter Solomon, a 33rd degree Mason.

Like the Brown’s previous novels, this one is packed with action, suspense, and lots of interesting concepts to ponder. The Lost Symbol takes on Freemansonry. Freemansonry is a fraternal organisation that arose from obscure origins in the late 16th to early 17th century. Freemasonry now exists in various forms all over the world, with a membership estimated at around five million, including just under two million in the United States and around 480,000 in England, Scotland, and Ireland. The various forms all share a constitutional declaration of belief in a Supreme Being.

I found The Lost Symbol action-packed and entertaining. But, it was lacking a little something compared to the previous two novels. Maybe it’s just Brown’s formula that is getting a little familiar. This novel is entertaining, but not a must read, at least for me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: