Skip to content

The Help – Kathryn Stockett

March 31, 2010

I had been eyeing this book at Barnes & Noble for some time, deciding whether or not I wanted to read it bad enough to purchase it in hard back. Well, I finally broke down and purchased it with a coupon. Hey, I got a good price! Plus, it was a book club selection, so I had to read it anyway.

The Help tells the story of several white families in the 1960’s south and their hired help. The story is narrated from three points of view: Aibleen (maid to the Leefolt family), Minny (an outspoken maid out of work after being accused of theft), and Skeeter Phelan (a white woman on a mission). The novel takes on the task of narrating a story of these women as they all deal with life in the segretated deep south during the fragile civil rights movement.

This is a wonderfully compelling story that I found myself anxious to read every chance I had during the day. The characters were likeable and believable. However, the novel is more plot driven that character driven. The characters were lacking a bit of real emotion and connection to one another. Nevertheless, I really liked this book and would recommend it to anyone looking for an entertaining read.

No comments yet

Leave a comment