Skip to content

Heart of the Matter – Emily Giffin

August 13, 2010
tags:

Chick lit is my chick flick. Seriously, I devour the stuff. Sad, I know, but true. It makes me happy. It makes me feel good. So, I was happy when I found out that Emily Giffin was releasing a new book. I have been a fan of Emily Giffin since I read Something Borrowed and Something Blue a few years back. I like that her books have a more realistic spin on them. They aren’t as “air headed” as a lot of the chick lit out there. So, I purchased this book right after it was published, excited to sit down and read it cover to cover.

 In Giffin’s new book, the lives of two women, Tessa and Valerie, are about to intersect in a way that will alter the course of each of their lives forever. The lives of the women are very different. Tessa is a wife of a well-known plastic surgeon and a mother to her two small children, while Valerie is a single working mother to her son, Charlie.  Charlie is involved in a tragic accident that causes the two women’s lives to intersect and permanently change course.

 I liked this book for the most part. It was not as compelling as Giffin’s other books. But it was certainly an entertaining summer read. I read the entire book in a week, and my temporary need for good chick lit was fulfilled.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

