Skip to content

Medium Raw – Anthony Bourdain

September 8, 2010

Oh, Anthony Boudain, how I love thee. Seriously, he is the best. Kitchen Confidential is on my personal Top 10 list. One of the best books I have ever read. It rocked my world. So, color me surprised when I walked into the bookstore and saw this book sitting innocently on the display at the very front of the store. All glossy in its hardback form. Mocking me. I didn’t see it coming. Which made the whole experience even better. Yeah, I walked out of the store, book in hand, and ran home as fast as I could to start reading. And I read. And read. And read.

Bourdain’s new book, Medium Raw, follows ten years after Kitchen Confidential and is every bit as good as its predecessor.  A lot has changed in the food/restaurant industry in the ten years since Kitchen Confidential, as Bourdain acknowledges in this book. The Food Network and it’s cast of characters. Good and bad restaurants have come and gone. Chefs have become rock stars. 

Some of the changes have been good, some have been bad. But all of the stories in this book are entertaining as heck. Bourdain is one of the rare few that does not and will not let fame go to his head. He remains the same person he always was. Full of piss and vinegar, not hesitant to pull a punch, no holds barred. He is, without a doubt, one of the best writers I have ever read. Can you tell I liked this book? Just a little bit? Please don’t make me wait ten years for another.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

