Skip to content

The Hunger Games Trilogy – Suzanne Collins

October 4, 2010

I finished this trilogy a little over a month ago, and have been mulling it over and over in my head since. I was a bit late to the game, purchasing The Hunger Games the same week Mockingjay was released. But it worked out really well because I was able to read the three books back to back without having to wait for months in between. That probably would have made me a little crazy.

I am honestly still having a hard time processing these books. I have so many feelings about the overall story arc, the themes, and the characters.  I may have read them too quickly, and now I am too disturbed to go back and reread the horrors that were revealed between the pages. I was deeply, deeply disturbed by the books and wonder how the story would have been different if they were written for an “adult” audience. Then I realized they could not have been written that way. This was the only way that would have worked.

The whole concept of the Hunger Games themselves just disturbed me to the core of my being. Kids being murdered by other kids in the name of “entertainment.” What part of that isn’t disturbing? But the story was so beautifully told. There were so many beautiful defining moments that shone through. Katniss was such a complex character. It could have been so easy to hate her, but instead you cheer for her. She is the ultimate heroine.

I really liked the books overall. I liked the first two books better than the third. The story was very complex and very well told. In terms of YA series books, this trilogy just blows the Twilight series away in every way. Hands down. The writing and character development are just so much better. Collins truly is a master storyteller.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

