Skip to content

Mennonite in a Little Black Dress – Rhoda Janzen

November 24, 2010

I read this book when I was looking for a quick and easy read. I was also looking to read a non-fiction book for a book challenge I am trying to complete.

In this autobiographical tale, Rhoda Janzen underwent a life-altering experience when her husband left her the same week she was in a severe car accident. Not sure where to turn, Rhoda moved back in with her Mennonoite family’s home. Back home, she was reunited with her quirky parents in their offbeat Mennonite community.

It was definitely a quick and easy read. And it was somewhat of an educational read, not really knowing much about Mennonites going in. I had to Google the Mennonite lifestyle, as a matter of fact, just to orient myself with the setting of the book. That part was fascinating. Rhoda herself was funny, and quirky, and a little annoying at the same time. I am a fairly educated person, and found myself not knowing a lot of the words she was using. I wish I had my book handy so I could list some of them here. And her ex-husband really rubbed me the wrong way. I wanted to hunt that guy down several times.

But, overall, it was an entertaining book and I would recommend it as a light and interesting read.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

