Skip to content

Outlander – Diana Gabaldon

November 24, 2010

This book has been in my “to be read” pile for a very, very long time and I finally found the time to fit it into my reading schedule. Historical fiction is not generally my thing. But I had heard about so many people loving this book (and series) that I figured I should at least give it a shot.

The premise of this book is that Clair (shortly after WWII) goes on vacation with her husband in Scotland, and ends up being transported back to 1743 after touching a mysterious rock. Confused and disoriented after being transported back in time, Clair is left trying to rebuild her new life as an untrusted outsider to the MacKenzie clan, who reluctantly take her in. Clair continues on with her life, eventually marrying Jamie MacKenzie and ultimately deciding to stay with him instead of traveling back to the modern time and husband she left behind.

Gabaldon is a talented story writer and has a knack for elaborate descriptions, ultimately resulting in a nearly 1,000 page book. But the story is interesting and has you turning pages to find out what adventures Jamie and Clair will face next. The book was interesting and I am glad that I read it. But I did not love it, and it is unlikely that I will continue with the series. There are just too many other books that interest me more at this point.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

