Skip to content

Sarah’s Key – Tatiana De Rosnay

November 24, 2010

The Holocaust is undoubtedly one of the darkest times, if not the darkest time, in world history. It is one of those subjects that is so important to learn about, but it is one of the hardest subjects to comprehend. Just thinking the word breaks my heart into a million pieces. As a result, I have often shied away from books and movies about the Holocaust.

But Sarah’s Key sounded so interesting to me that I picked it up and gave it a shot. This book actually describes the Vel’ d’Hiv, an event that occurred in Paris, France, when thousands of Parisian Jewish families were arrested, held at the Velodrome d’Hiver, then transported to Auschwitz. The book tells the parallel stories of Sarah, a little girl that was part of the round up, and Julia, an American journalist living in Paris in modern times. Julia stumbles on a secret connection between Sarah and her husband’s family that changes the lives of everyone around her, including Sarah’s living descendents, forever.

This book had me holding my breath, crying, and contemplating history. I found this book to be very well written and thoroughly engaging. It was one of those books that was hard to put down, and I found myself picking it up whenever I had a spare minute in the day. It really is a must, must read read.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

