Skip to content

The Sky is Everywhere – Jandy Nelson

January 7, 2011

The Young Adult genre has been exploding in recent years. The number and quality of the books has increased greatly, and I know many people who are reading more and more Young Adult books. With the exception of the Twilight and Hunger Games series, I have not jumped the bandwagon quite yet. But I have read rave reviews about a book called The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson. I made my way to the bookstore, picked it up, flipped through it, and put it back down. I must have done this three or four times before I bit the bullet and purchased the book. I just had this nagging thought in the back of my mind that I was not going to like the book.

 The novel follows Lennie as she deals with the aftermath of her sisters death. Lennie has always lurked in the shadows of her older sister, Bailey. They were best friends and confidents, yet Lennie was always in Bailey’s shadow. Without Bailey in her life, Lennie feels hopeless, lost, scared, sad, and guilty that it wasn’t her instead. Two people emerge in Lennie’s life to help her through her grief – Toby (Bailey’s boyfriend) and Joe (the new guy in town). Lennie develops a special bond with both boys as the story unfolds, and ultimately has to make a decision about which path to follow in her quest to move forward with her life.

 This book struck a cord deep within me. It was so beautifully written that I had to keep reading. Nelson has a knack for drawing you into Lennie’s life and enabling the reader to feel her pain, her heartbreak, and each agonizing decision she makes. After reading this book, my mind has definitely opened to the Young Adult genre. This book proves that a Young Adult book can be wonderfully written, smart, catchy, insightfully and worthy of readers of all ages.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 7, 2011 11:23 pm

    This one made it on a lot of best of YA lists for 2010. Agreed, it is a touching & well-written book. Have you read Before I Fall? That is another great contemporary YA from last year. I enjoyed your review. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

