Skip to content

The Night Villa – Carol Goodman

January 10, 2011

This book was another cheap thrift store find. It looked intriguing, so I picked it up and put it in the “to be read” pile for a time when I was in the mood for a mystery. This book sat around for quite a while, actually. I knew I would be getting a Kindle for Christmas, and I told myself I would not under any circumstances buy any more books. I finally ended up pulling this book out of the bookshelf when I was completely out of books to read and this one looked the best out of the five books in my bookcase that I had not read.

In The Night Villa, Sophie Chase, a professor at the University of Texas, ends up in Italy on a research trip with a group of peers attempting to reconstruct a Roman Villa, and a set of associated scrolls, that were destroyed when Mount Vesuvius erupted and buried nearby Herculaneum in A.D. 79. I found this to be an intriguing and mostly believable story.  Sophie’s character was complex and the relationships she had with the other characters was believable and well developed. The mystery was intriguing and kept me reading.

 This was pretty far from the type of book I would normally pick up. So, it was a pleasant surprise to pick it up and actually enjoy the story. I would definitely recommend it to someone looking for an easy to read mystery.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

