Skip to content

The Library

January 27, 2011

When I was a kid, one of my very favorite things to do was take trips to the library with my mom. She would take me and my sister once every couple of weeks. I would always check out the maximum number of books, take them all home, and read them before the next trip. I grew up in a small town, and we had a small library and, thus, a smallish book selection. I remember at one point when I was about 14, I had read every Young Adult book the library had available. I made the decision to start reading adult fiction at that point. In fact, I think one of my first adult fiction novels was Pet Semetery, by Stephen King. Yeah, that book pretty much scared me out of my mind.

By the time I went away to college, the only reason I went to the library was to gether research materials for term papers. And, sadly, when I graduated college, I stopped going to the library all together. That was 16 years ago.  The town I currently live in built a brand new, beautiful library and after driving past it thinking “I really need to go in and check that place out,” I am happy to say I signed up for a brand spanking new library card a few months back.

My son is currently 19 months old, and it was very important to me to be able to introduce the library to him while he is young. Hopefully I will be able to cultivate some of the same happy memories I have of visiting the library with my mom with him. He is already a little bookworm. We don’t allow him to watch any TV yet, so books supply him with endless amounts of entertainment on a daily basis. It is not uncommon for him to sit in my lap for an hour or more at a time reading book after book. I have started taking him to the library and so far he loves to run around, pull out the books, bank on the shelves, and play with the puzzes and things in the kid’s section. Watching him learn to love books the same way I do takes me back in time, stirs up so many memories, and gives me so much joy. I have completed a full circle in my life, and I am so happy that the Library is at the center of it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

