Skip to content

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo/Millennium Series – Stieg Larsson

January 28, 2011

I was very late to the game with yet another series, Stieg Larsson’s Millennium Series. In all honesty, I had heard a number of negative reviews on the first book, mostly about it being “disturbing,” so I shied away for a long time. Then I got my new Kindle for Christmas and was browsing the $5 and under books, and came across this one. I decided to give it a try. It was only $5, right?

 The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo introduces us to Lisbeth Salander and Mikael Blomkvist as they search for the truth about what happened to Harriet Vanger. Blomkvist is down on his luck and out of sorts, and really doesn’t have an option to do anything else with his life. Blomkvist ends up enlisting the help of Salander, as the story twists and turns through Sweden’ sex trafficking trade before coming to an explosive and surprising climax.

 Once the action starts with the first book in the series, it literally doesn’t stop for over 1,800 pages. The second book ends in a cliffhanger that forces you to read the third book to find out how the overall series wraps up.  I read through the first book in less than a week, and immediately downloaded the next two books and devoured them over the course of the next week. I was finding every spare moment during the day to read because I just couldn’t wait to find out how the series resolved itself.  I actually felt a little sad as I read the last page of the book. I had become so wrapped up in the character’s lives that I wasn’t quite sure what to do when I was done reading. That’s always the mark of a great book to me. These books were truly engaging and entertaining.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

