Skip to content

A Desirable Residence – Madeleine Wickham

February 2, 2011
tags:

I have had a serious hankering for some good chick lit the last few weeks. Then I realized that in the five-ish weeks that I have had my Kindle, I haven’t read any chick lit. I guess I was just having some withdrawals.

 A few weeks ago, I discovered a Kindle lending website called Kindle Lending Club that allows you to both lend and borrow books via your Kindle. I immediately put in a borrow request for several different books that I had been wanting to read. A few days later I received an email that a book I had requested to borrow was available. That book happened to be A Desirable Residence by Madeleine Wickham (aka Sophie Kinsella of the Shopaholic series). The timing could not have been more perfect.

 This novel tells an interesting story in which the lives of three different families are hopelessly tangled up with each other through a series of affairs, debt, shady real estate deals, friendship, betrayal, lies, deceit, and guilt. As much as I love her work under her pen name (Sophie Kinsella), I have had a hard time getting into her books under her given name (Madeleine Wickham). I have read quite a few now, and all have been decently entertaining, but nothing to write home about. This particular novel fell into that same boat. It was somewhat enjoyable, but I honestly would not have missed much by not reading it.

 It was, however, the first book I have borrowed via the Kindle Lending Club. I love that you can lend books via the Kindle now, and my experience as both a lender and a borrower using that website have been positive so far.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

