Skip to content

Kindle Love

February 18, 2011
tags:

I was one of those people for a long time. You know those people. The ones who say “I will never…” My “I never” was I will never buy or use a Kindle. I loved the feel of a book in my hand. I loved the smell of the pages, especially a brand new hot off the press book. The pages have that woody/inky smell. But I finally opened my mind to the idea of having an e-reader. I looked at both the pros and cons of the different devices on the market, and decided to jump in head first. I ended up selecting a Kindle, and I am very happy with my choice.

I love my Kindle. I have had it since Christmas, and I am at the point that I can no longer imagine reading books the old fashioned way. It is so wonderful in so many ways. It is the smaller than a standard hardback book, lighter than a standard hardback book, and much easier to handle. I can lay it flat on a surface and read without the pages flopping over and losing my place. I have downloaded tons of free classics and have started reading some of the ones I have always wanted to read, but just have not made the time. I have downloaded several other free books and games, and those are mostly lined up in my queue waiting to be read. Fortunately, I have received a ton of gift cards, so all of the books I have purchased so far have been paid for using the gift cards. So, I still haven’t had to spend a dime.

As for the cons of the Kindle? There really are not a lot for me. In the past, when I purchased new books from the bookstore, I would often read them and resell them, almost making my money back. You obviously can not do that when you have the books electronically. So, I miss that. And it makes me think twice before I pay $9.99 for an electronic book that I used to be able to resell and get six to seven dollars back on. But, fortunately, Amazon did add the ability to lend books. The con is that there are a lot of books that are not available to lend. But there are a lot of good books that are on my To Be Read list that are available to be lent. So, it is a huge plus to be able to borrow books from others without having to pay as much as $12.99 for every book.

I love my Kindle. I really have nothing but good things to say about the device. My mom actually just got one for her birthday. I never would have guessed that she would have liked an e-reader, but even she has taken to it like a fish to water. That proves to me how far the readers have come, and how wide an appeal they have to all different kinds of people.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

