Skip to content

Rebecca – Daphne Du Maurier

February 18, 2011
tags:

“Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again.” Be still my heart. I recently reread Rebecca for the umpteenth time, and my heart leaps with excitement every time I read those words.  Rebecca is one of my absolute favorite books of all time. It is in my top five favorites, competing with To Kill a Mockingbird, The Catcher in the Rye, and even Harry Potter. I was late in finding Rebecca, reading it for the first time a mere five or six years ago. But it was a favorite from the time I picked it up for the first time, and has been reread several times since.

Rebecca is a novel that has it all: suspense, intrigue, mystery, passion, secrets, betrayal, ghosts, and the ultimate reveal, which does not happen until the very last page of the book. Who is Rebecca? What kind of woman is she really? What is the truth surrounding the events leading up to her death?  

Rebecca is expertly crafted, poetic in its rhythms. It lulls you along, like a lullaby. The plot makes you suck in your breath and keep reading, anxious to find out the truth. And the ending is so worth the wait. Such a wonderful book that I hold very close to my heart.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

