Skip to content

The Truth About Forever – Sarah Dessen

February 23, 2011

I have been really giving the Young Adult genre a lot of attention lately. I have read a few really good books and have been intrigued enough to try a few more. I have read a lot of good things about Sarah Dessen’s books, so I thought that would be the next logical step for me to take.

The Truth About Forever has received some good reviews, so I downloaded it onto my Kindle and started to read. In this novel, Macy Queen is dreading the long summer ahead of her. Her boyfriend of a year and a half is leaving for Brain Camp, she is taking over his job at the library, she is studying for the SATs, and she is still grieving the loss of her father. But then she crosses paths with the wild and racuous bunch from Wish Catering, including Wes, for whom she quickly develops a crush, and her boring summer takes a turn for the better.

The core themes of this book revolve around grief and perfectionish.  This book does a great job showing how the grieving process is so different for every person going through it. Also, a lot of emphasis is also placed on the quest for perfection throughout the novel. Is true perfection really an achievable goal?

I was not disappointed in this book. It was a quick read, but still had some depth to it. The characters were believable and full of life. I did not enjoy it as much as a few of the others I have reviewed below, but I really did like this book overall. In all, another great Young Adult read.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

