Skip to content

Lock and Key – Sarah Dessen

March 14, 2011

I am always looking for a good, dependable author I can rely on for good, lighthearted, entertaining books.  That is why I have always been so fond of good chick lit. For me, reading is an escape from my life and from reality into a world where the characters are witty, fun, smart, and sexy. I like being able to retreat into a world where fun things happen and where everything always works out in the end, like a pretty package all tied up with a bright and shiny bow on top.

I have recently decided to branch out a bit and try the young adult genre. I have been pleasantly surprised so far to find out that a there is a whole new world of books that meet the criteria I described above. Most recently, I have discovered Sarah Dessen, who has a published quite a few books to date, all of which I have liked.

My most recent Dessen book was Lock and Key. In Lock and Key,17 year old Ruby is coming to terms with her new life after her mother disappeared, abandoning her in the home they shared. Ruby is taken from the home by social services and placed with her older sister, Cora, whom Ruby has not seen or heard from in years. Forced into a new life, Ruby is left to deal with the challenges of a new prestigious private school, and living with her sister and brother in law in an upscale neighborhood where Ruby does not feel like she belongs.

I ended up enjoying this book. It was a light and easy read. The characters had some depth and were believable. I like that Ruby was able to persevere in the face of the challenges she had to endure, from her mother’s alcoholism and ultimate abandonment by her mother, to her new start with her sister. Ruby is able to overcome the challenges as she comes to terms with her new life. The book is most definitely predictable, but that is not always a bad thing. That is the beauty in books like this one. They provide entertainment and an escape from real life and always make you feel good about life in the end.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

