Skip to content

The Art of Racing in the Rain – Garth Stein

April 15, 2011

This book has been in my “to be read” pile for quite some time. I have been fearful, because books about animals always make me sad, because the animal almost always dies. But, I finally decided to suck it up and read it.

 This is the story of a dog. Not just any dog, though. This is the story of Enzo, a dog different than any other dog out there. Enzo has educated himself through watching the television, and becomes an astute observe of the happenings going on around him. The story begins at the end of Enzo’s life, and has him go back and recount the years of adventures he experienced with Denny, eventually adding Eve and Zoe into the family.

 This book is pretty different than anything I have read before. I loved, loved that it was narrated by the dog. Very original, and I actually felt like I could hear the dog telling the story. And it did make me cry, although not in the way I thought it would. I loved hearing the story unfold through the Enzo’s eyes. It made me laugh and cry, and fall in love with Enzo and his family.

 This is really an amazing book. I loved reading books with a different angle, and this one nailed it. A definite must read, especially for animal lovers.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

